1. K-State home
  2. »GSI
  3. »People
  4. »Faculty

Grain Science and Industry

AgReportteaching facilitiesresearch

Faculty Directory

FacultyArea(s) of ExpertiseEmail 
said alaviSajid Alavi

Professor 

Food engineering; extrusion processing of food and feed; rheology; food microstructure imaging and structure texture relationships

salavi@ksu.edu

Greg Aldrich  Greg Aldrich

 Research Associate Professor

 Pet Food Program Coordinator

 

Pet food processing; pet food nutrition

aldrich4@ksu.edu

Guy AllenGuy Allen

Senior Agricultural Economist

Grain Marketing and Risk Management Curriculum Manager

Agribusiness - domestic & international; commodity trading and risk management; supply chain logistics and commodity analysis; new business development

 guyhallen@ksu.edu

Subi  Subramanyam Bhadriraju

 University Distinguished             Professor 

Management of insects associated with stored grain; food and feed processing facilities using alternatives to pesticides

sbhadrir@ksu.edu

paul blodgettPaul Blodgett 

Hall Ross Flour Mill Program/Project Manager

Milling assets and operations

pblodgett@ksu.edu

Carlos headshot  Carlos Campabadal

 Instructor/ IGP Outreach           Specialist

Grain quality, storage and processing and feed manufacturing engineering; Spanish language technical support 

campa@ksu.edu

fran churchillFran Churchill

NAMA Instructor 

Technical flour milling and plant operations

fmchurchill@ksu.edu

AaronAaron Clanton 

BNEF Instructor

Baking science, flour and ingredient functionality, product development, bakery operations

 alclanton@ksu.edu

Hulya headshotHulya Dogan 

Ross Endowed Associate Professor 

Undergraduate Programs Chair and Teaching Coordinator 

Food engineering; grain processing and milling; biopolymer science; fundamental and empirical rheology; physical, mechanical, thermo-mechanical and microstructural characterization; structure-texture relationships; food processing; extrusion; mathematical modeling and process optimization

dogan@ksu.edu

Huseyin Headshot Huseyin Dogan

Instructor 

Process flow diagram for grain operations, power distribution and management on grain processing facilities, flour and feed technology, 2D and 3D plant design with AutoCAD

hdogan@ksu.edu

yonghui liYonghui Li

Assistant Professor

Baking science and chemistry; cereal and grain chemistry; protein chemistry and applications; functional cereal foods; protein-based nano-assemblies; bioactive compounds and peptides

yonghui@ksu.edu 

becky millerRebecca (Miller) Regan

Assistant Professor 

Wheat and flour quality; baking and cereal chemistry

beckym@ksu.edu

chad paulk Chad Paulk

Assistant Professor

Feed processing technologies; monogastric nutrition; quality assurance and feed safety 

cpaulk@ksu.edu

kaliKaliramesh Siliveru

Assistant Professor

Grain processing and milling; process modeling and simulation; particle technology and materials handling; physical, chemical, and surface properties and their correlation in food and feed materials

kaliramesh@ksu.edu

Shi Headshot  Yong-Cheng Shi

 Professor

Starch structure and functionality; physcial, chemical, and genetic modifications of starch; enzymatic modifications of biopolymers; cereal starch digestibility; carbohydrate nutrition

ycshi@ksu.edu

Smith Headshot  Gordon Smith 

 Department Head

 IGP Institute Director 

Food chemistry; chemical related food safety; processed meat science; product development; industry/university partnership; FDA & USDA regulatory affairs

glsmith@ksu.edu

charles starkCharles Stark 

Jim and Carol Brown Associate Professor in Feed Technology 

Feed safety; quality assurance; feed processing technologies

crstark@ksu.edu

susan Susan X. Sun

University Distinguished Professor

Biological material process engineering; thermal and rheological behavior and functional properties of plant polymeric materials and ingredients; bio-based adhesives; biodegradable resins 

xss@ksu.edu

shawn theileShawn Thiele

IGP Associate Director

Flour Milling and Grain Processing Curriculum Manager 

Grain processing and milling; milling technology; plant operations

smt9999@ksu.edu

jason wattJason Watt

Buhler Instructor of Milling

Technical Milling

jwatt1@ksu.edu

Yi Zheng Headshot  Yi Zheng 

 Assistant Professor 

 Graduate Program Director 

Bioprocessing and fermentation; applied biochemistry and metabolic engineering; biomaterial technology 

 

yzheng@ksu.edu