1. K-State home
  2. »GSI
  3. »Extrusion
  4. »People

Grain Science and Industry

Operations Manager

eric> Eric Maichel
201 Shellenberger Hall
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506
785-532-4802 (o) 785-532-7193 (f)
emaichel@ksu.edu

Responsible for scheduling, operation and maintenance of extrusion center facilities.

Post Doctoral Staff

xiaozhi

Dr.Xiaozhi Tang
Post Doctoral Research Fellow
785-532-6723 (o)

PhD Degree Kansas State University(2008)
B.S. Food Science and Engineering, Heilongjiong Commercial College (1998), China. M.S. Fermentation Engineering, Wuxi University of Light Industry (2001), China.

Other Support Staff

glen> Glen Swartz
Lab Educational Technician
785-532-7149(o)
gswartz@ksu.edu

Graduate Students

jhoe>

Normell Jhoe de Mesa
PhD Student
Department of Grain Science And Industry
jhoe@ksu.edu

B.S. Food Technology, University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City
M.S. Food Science, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York
Industry and academic research experiences and interests: Supercritical Fluid Extrusion (SCFX) of bread; Product and process development and improvement (bread, cookies, crackers); Baking and extrusion processing

Elisa>

Elisa L. Karkle
PhD Student
Department of Grain Science And Industry
ekarkle@ksu.edu

B.S. Nutrition (2004), Parana Federal University, Curitiba - Parana, Brazil.
M.S. Food Science (2006), Londrina State University, Londrina - Parana, Brazil
Research area: extrusion processing, vegetable-based snacks

camila>

Juhyun Yoo
PhD Student
Department of Grain Science And Industry
yoo0573@ksu.edu

B S. Chemical Engineering (2001), Sungkyunkwan University, Korea.
M.S. Grain Science (2007), Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Personell>Samer

Samer Shaur Ali
Masters Student
shaur@ksu.edu

Flavio>

Flavie Giannetta
Visiting Student
ENSAIA (National Engineering School of Agronomy and Food Sciences, Nancy, France)

Undergraduate Students

undergrad 2>

Left: Matt Simon, Cunningham, KS; May 2009 Agronomy

Middle: Ryan Roberts, Pomona, KS; May 2010, FSM

Right: Faith Wenger, Powhattan, KS; May 2008, MSM

Personell> Austin Bosse; Onaga, KS; May 2010, BSM

Extrusion Lab Alumni